9 – Radiohead: The Tourist

head

1997 – now that was a watershed year, wasn’t it? I started keeping a diary on New Year’s Day.I’d just turned sixteen, and while the year ahead pivoted on my GCSE exams, the world outside school seemed on the brink of something magical. I spent most of that spring looking upwards, picking out the tail of the Hale-Bopp comet in the night sky. It was like a trick of the light – kinesis suspended; unchecked metaphors gushed from my Parker fountain pen, blotting the diary pages with a little astral debris of their own. I started getting interested in politics too. Really interested, on a psephological level. All my life, Dad had watched the BBC news with an ashen face, muttering ‘bloody Tories’, and now the old order were about to get their comeuppance. Or that’s how it seemed anyway; I don’t need to tell you what happened next.

Good omens were everywhere; and the music press was excitable too. At sixteen, my favourite reading matter was Q magazine, and the recently established Mojo. Q was a hefty publication back then; the features were longer, the reviews more wide-ranging. At that time, the pages were matt, not gloss, though at the outset of 1997, they radiated anticipation. It was to be a bumper year for albums, apparently. The new Prodigy. A radical departure for Blur. And more breathlessly tipped than any of them, OK Computer, Radiohead’s long-awaited follow-up to 1995’s The Bends. I didn’t own many albums then, and though I’d loved ‘High and dry’ and ‘Street Spirit’, I hadn’t ventured fully into that universe. Perhaps I was worried I would find myself already in it, shivering misanthropically in a dark recess.

That was the problem with Radiohead, you see. It was almost too easy to be a teenager in 1997 and claim your allegiance; to love them and hate yourself. I still know many people who think ‘Creep’ was their peak. The tune is lovely, but the more the years pass, the funnier I find the song overall. It’s a middle-class kid who has decided to flirt with anarchy and forego shampoo for a week. Lumbering between the graceful and the gauche, it doesn’t just gaze at its navel; it spends most of lunch-break picking out the lint. Thank God they satirised it the following year in ‘My Iron Lung’: Radiohead are actually their own best critics, and I defy anyone to say they are earnest, doomy or depressing.  When I first heard OK Computer’s taster single, ‘Paranoid Android’, it seemed a triumphantly sour amuse bouche; gnarled and twisted and ugly, yes – but with all those funky 7/8 bars and Gothic groans, I got the sense that Radiohead were revelling in the joy of having made a big mess all over the airwaves that somebody else would have to clear up. The panic, the vomit, as Thom Yorke wails in that astounding climactic sequence, perhaps anticipating initial listener reactions with a sardonic smirk.

I loved it, but £15.99 was a lot of money to me back then, and I wasn’t sure whether to save up my coins for this album that was now attracting five-star reviews and strings of superlatives. In stepped Q magazine to make my mind up for me. I usually found its free CDs disappointing – you look at them now after fifteen years and half of the artists are utterly unfamiliar – but one in particular played a blinder. Mum and Dad were at a dinner party one evening, which meant I could sneak my CD onto Dad’s system and rack up the volume. The twilight dimmed to indigo. I flopped into Dad’s armchair. Hey man, slow down. Slow down.

My first encounter with ‘The Tourist’ is actually a little beyond my powers of description. It’s how I imagine a morphine shot might feel.  Or bathing in a hot spring at the top of the world. Or waving goodbye to gravity, furling and unfurling through space (at a thousand feet per second?) I’ve never felt so much like a mere molecule while listening to a piece of popular music. I was just a speck. The outside world was bruised black, but beyond the atmosphere, the heavens were singing. Jonny Greenwood had tuned a mellotron to the music of the spheres. He was riding Hale-Bopp all the way to the great gig in the sky.

To my delight, I discovered that OK Computer itself was an astral sort of record. Thom Yorke arrives in an interstellar burst, back to save the universe. It seemed obvious to me that the ‘beautiful ship’ in ‘Subterranean Homesick Alien’ was actually Radiohead’s – that they were the aliens ‘making home movies’. And despite the sometimes grotesque lyrics (‘We hope that you choke’, the pig in a cage on antibiotics), the earth they saw from their vantage was frequently generous and luminous. The music betrays the messages. Listen to it again, if you actually can afresh (I know it’s hard for anyone of my vintage), and feel how warm it all sounds. OK Computer can heat the dampest of bedsits: the fibre-optic  keyboards on ‘Let Down’, the glockenspiel of ‘No Surprises’, ‘Lucky’s love letter to Dave Gilmour, are all almost unbearably bonny in first light. For me at seventeen, it was perpetual dawn and dusk; the radiance of the sun, forever rising and dying, dying and rising. But my first love never left me. I was always anticipating the quiet track, the one that Radiohead wanted to linger with me beyond the last bar.

‘The Tourist’ is the end of the party, in the best possible way. Sometimes fatigue is gorgeous; the sweet dull ache of limbs after dancing, the feeling of bloated satisfaction after too much wine and conversation. ‘Lucky’ leaves us ‘standing on the edge’ (or else B major); ‘The Tourist’ settles onto that edge (it starts on the same chord) and discovers that it isn’t an edge at all, but a room big enough to accommodate a slow waltz, a room where the embers glow in the grate and the glass yields one last mouthful. It’s worth hyperventilating in order to realise that regular breathing has its own beauty. Fitter happier indeed.

In 1999, I moved to Oxford. In certain lights, it had an ethereal quality; perhaps I willed it to be so, because I couldn’t imagine Radiohead living somewhere entirely earthly. This was even more the case after I bought Kid A, an album I actually listen to more than OK Computer. That one tracked my life as a twenty year-old just as its predecessor seemed perfect for me at seventeen. I could write another piece on ‘The National Anthem’ or ‘Everything in its right place’, though I won’t bore you with my exegeses now (leave a comment if you’d like my thoughts). But something strange happened after Amnesiac. I stalked Thom Yorke down Cornmarket Street and managed to get an autograph; a hieroglyphed curlicue worthy of Tristram Shandy, with a little kiss. This is where my relationship with the Head peaked, before diving down to earth. I discovered that Yorke discussed fridges with his wife, Dr Rachel Owen, outside Boswells; that he queued for Alpha Bar salads on Monday lunchtimes with a Guardian under his arm; that he flicked through art magazines in Borders (once, rather bizarrely, while I was reading a glossy with his photo on the front). Oxford’s a bit like that. You see Alex James at a cashpoint, or Gaz Coombes bouncing his daughter up and down in a sandwich bar. But Thom Yorke was meant to live in his own world, and I initially felt almost affronted that he could exist in mine. What was I expecting – a Radiohead spaceship to crash into the Covered Market?

Still, I think I can forgive him for being human. I now hum ‘The Tourist’ to myself in more mundane contexts; while I’m trying to negotiate a path through crowds of American sightseers and Italian schoolchildren, for example. Perhaps Thom Yorke’s message wasn’t ever as cosmic as I imagined. Perhaps it was a hymn to his city, with its rushing buses and box-ticking visitors. Still, when the caramel stone traps a late evening sunbeam or two, the years rewind, and my jadedness lifts. I can’t help but maintain that 1997 was magical, and no amount of chance encounters with an elfin singer in shades can ultimately dim that. Radiohead resisted the lure of stardom, and remained in the shire. That Tony Blair, on the other hand, turned out to be a bit of a wanker, didn’t he?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “9 – Radiohead: The Tourist

  1. Ah, this is wonderful. So many parallel musical life-tracks, but some different interpretations. Until ‘OK Computer’, my sister was the bigger Radiohead fan in the house. I was much more into the Prodigy, Chemical Brothers, Propellerheads (eek) on the one hand, Manics and Blur on the other. And as you say, ’97 was a vintage year for most of them.

    ‘OK Computer’ was something very different though. It was recommended to me primarily by a teacher who was into Pink Floyd, seeing the resonances not only in track eleven but throughout – and unexpectedly, really, given the previous effort (which I have always thought overrated).

    The Tourist, in that context, can be uncomfortable listening, because while Radiohead are far from humourless, they are still detached, even when going all in on something like 2+2=5, a descendent of Electioneering. (Perhaps a consistent balance of warmth and detachment didn’t really arrive again until ‘In Rainbows’ which itself was a bit patchy, musically.) When The Tourist arrives, though, for me it’s like a hot bath – almost too hot, compared with all that’s gone on before, as if it were an act of relaxation after a traumatic day, but an act that feels sometimes inappropriate or undeserved. But on other occasions it’s the perfect bookend (being a bookend with soft edges).

  2. I haven’t thought about it this way – that ‘The Tourist’ is almost uncomfortable in its sweetness, though I identify with what you’re saying. I find this more the case with ‘No Surprises’, which has almost cloying chord sequences and yet, combined with superb arrangement and lyrics, completely legitimises them. I think that if ‘The Tourist’ is a hot bath, then ‘Lucky’s been running the taps beforehand – it takes us back out of ‘Electioneering’ and ‘Climbing up the walls’ (itchy trip-hop that I was never sure quite worked though I like it better now) and into more sumptuous territory again.

    You mention 2+2=5…I really like Hail to the Thief (‘Myxomatosis’ is astonishing, I think, and ‘There There’ magisterial)…but to my shame I haven’t even *heard* In Rainbows (apart from ‘Numb’). Another blog may be in order for all those albums I should have heard or bought but have never got round to (that would be an interesting 52 weeks for me, but maybe not for anyone else…)

    • Idea for something to do on future visits to N15 or vice versa – we draw up the armchairs and fill in an album gap. I’m sure between us we’ve a few lacunae in the encyclopaedia!

Leave a Reply

